

## CHRISTODOULOU SHOWS STRENGTH WITH QUICK LAP IN FIRST TEST SESSION OF 2009 STAR MAZDA SEASON FINALE THIS WEEKEND AT MAZDA RACEWAY LAGUNA SECA



Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca / Oct. 8 — In the first of two 'promoter test sessions' scheduled for today, Englishman Adam Christodoulou, currently second in the points battle and one of only two drivers still in contention for the Series championship, showed some on-track muscle with a lap of 1:21.183 (99.242 mph) in his #11 JDC Motorsports / Molecule / Alpinestars Mazda.

"I ran this car on this track two weeks ago in the West Coast Molecule Series Mazda event and won both races, so hopefully that will give me some advantage in dealing with Peter Dempsey this weekend," said Christodoulou, who has already clinched the 'Rookie of the Year' award. "With Peter needing to finish only sixth or better to clinch the championship, I need all the help I can get. The JDC Motorsports team gave me a spot-on car, as they do every weekend, but here knowing the track is very important, and so too is getting a clean session without people throwing gravel on the track from going off into the traps and then getting back on."

Christodoulou's time, though under ideal temperature conditions – cool and still – was set on a 'green' track with no rubber laid down by previous sessions and is still well shy of the lap record 1:19.935 set here last year by Richard Kent, who was 6th-fast in the opening session with a time of 1:22.318 (97.874 mph) in the #33 Andersen Racing / Traka Allied Interior Products Mazda. Kent stunned the field in this event last season, running a one-off race in which he shattered the lap record to win the pole... and led every lap to finish first.

Setting the 2nd-fast time was Joel Miller, with a time of 1:21.689 (.506-sec. back from Christodoulou) in the #2 Andersen Racing / Doug Mockett & Co. / Allied Interior Products Mazda. Miller, currently 4th in the championship battle, finished 4th in this race last year. 3rd-quick was Conor Daly, with a 1:22.205 (98.009 mph) in the #22 Andersen Racing / College Network / Indeck / Cytomax Mazda. Daly, son of racing legend Derek Daly, is third in the championship points.

Rounding out the top-5 were Milwaukee Mile oval winner Anders Krohn, who tied Daly with a lap of 1:22.205 in the #27 Mundill / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda and current championship leader with five wins, Peter 'The Irish Steamroller' Dempsey. He turned a 5th-fast lap of 1:22.306 (97.888 mph) in the #3 Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsport Ireland / Queyside.ie Mazda.

			Best		Best	In		
Pos	No.	Name	Tm	Diff	Spd	Lap	Team	Sponsor
1	11	Adam Christodoulou	1:21.183		99.242	23	JDC Motorsports	Molecule/AlpineStars/Miller Milling Co
2	2	Joel Miller	1:21.689	0.506	98.628	23	Andersen Racing	Allied Interior Products/Doug Mockett & Co
3	22	Conor Daly	1:22.205	1.022	98.009	25	Andersen Racing	Indeck/Cytomax/Merchant Services/College Network
4	27	Anders Krohn	1:22.205	1.022	98.009	21	Mundill	Trallfa/Colosseum
5	3	Peter Dempsey	1:22.306	1.123	97.888	21	Juncos Racing	Juncos Racing / The Collection / Motorsports Ireland
6	33	Richard Kent	1:22.318	1.135	97.874	22	Andersen Racing	Traka/Allied Interior Products
7	51	Alex Ardoin	1:22.491	1.308	97.669	19	JDC Motorsports	Oral & Facial Surgery Center/Twister Trailer
8	64	Patrick O'Neill	1:22.525	1.342	97.629	25		
9	72	Jorge Goncalvez	1:22.672	1.489	97.455	25	Aim Autosport	
10	71	David Ostella	1:22.998	1.815	97.072	28		
11	30	Kyle Marcelli	1:23.122	1.939	96.927	21	Team GDT	
12	66	Rusty Mitchell	1:23.145	1.962	96.901	22	Mitchell Motorsports	Motorola
13	19	Caio Lara	1:23.359	2.176	96.652	20	JDC Motorsports	MLD/ATW/Molecule
14	21	Denis Navarro	1:23.419	2.236	96.582	23	Andersen Racing	Navarro Medicines Distribution/Allied
15	91	Michael Guasch	1:23.518	2.335	96.468	23		
16	73	Giancarlo Vilarinho	1:23.587	2.404	96.388	26	Aim Autosport	
17	85	Chris Miller	1:23.881	2.698	96.050	16	JDC Motorsports	Miller Milling Company
18	13	Michael Furfari	1:24.032	2.849	95.878	23	Mundill	Furfari Paving
19	16	Chris Cumming	1:24.233	3.050	95.649	20	World Speed Motorsports	Texas World Speedway/Motul Oil/K&N Filters +
20	12	Chuck Hulse	1:25.040	3.857	94.741	23		
21	55	Gerry Kraut	1:25.413	4.230	94.328	22	JDC Motorsports	Dougherty and Co./Dougherty Funding LLC.
22	80	Toshihiro Deki	1:27.020	5.837	92.586	22	Juncos Racing	
23	65	JW Roberts	1:28.316	7.133	91.227	22		

On-track Star Mazda Championship action at the Monterey Sports Car Championships at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca continues with a second 'promoter test' on Thursday, Oct. 8. Official practice begins with a morning and afternoon session on Friday, Oct. 9. Qualifying to set the grid for the always-exciting Star Mazda 'standing start' will take place from 8:00-8:45 am Saturday, Oct 10, with the expected field of 25+ Star Mazda cars and drivers taking the green light for the 45-minute 2009 season finale at 12:50 pm.

